Dear World, it’s me Tilly

Hello there World-

Maybe you have noticed but I’ve been posting more in my blog in the last week than probably in the last year; why? I could say because inspiration has struck, or that I am on the up-cycle of my funk, or some other shit like that, but as I am as honest as I can be, with you, and with myself, I’m not really sure why, I guess because it is meant to be.

I’ve been going through my archives (like the one below if you keep reading) and discovered- damn- I really am a good writer and a smart cookie, not bragging, just reminding myself because sometimes you get caught up in life and sucked into the vortex of the downward cycle called depression that you forget- or at least I do.

Below is a little something I wrote with new authors in mind as my audience, it was written in September of 2006- I hope you enjoy it and find it useful in your journey.

Sending love on the wings of the wind…
Tilly

tilly-rivers
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I’m not about being inside the box. As a matter of fact when my second last book was released I took a look inside the box where the seals and sharks danced in a red pool of what is termed ‘market share and competition” and pushed the box as far back as it would go. I looked up and said “You want me to dive in there? Are you nuts?”

However most of us that write and most of us that has been published and now carry the title of author think that in order to win as an author would be to be sitting on the shelf of the large bookstores like Barnes and Noble, Chapters and Indigo.

They think that to have really made it would mean that the spine of the book created by their pain, laughter, tears, frustration and hard work would be finally laying beside….oh another 80 thousand titles.

An average best seller sells about 6,000 copies in a three year term. ( National Post, August 2006) My novel sold one hundred thousand copies in fourteen days and not one of them was on a traditional book shelf. Not only did the books sell but the name of “Tilly Rivers” is recognized as one of the best writers in erotica. World Wide.

Not one book signing was at Barnes and Noble, not one book sold through Chapters. I created my own market demand; I refused to have my book collect dust on a shelf with thousands upon thousands of its cousins, with the possibility of them being put on the clearance rack, or worse, sent back to the publisher.

Now, you could say to yourself, sure, that might work for an erotica genre, but I write a different style of prose. Hmm… Okay…. I will challenge that thinking process, how many erotica novels are there? Lets just say that compared to fiction writers, romance writers, children’s books and so on, the ‘other’ categories have fifty times the competition, fifty times more sharks to add the ‘market share pond” for you the new seal to try and swim through {and make it to the other side alive} to try and sell 6,000 copies.

I always try and encourage authors to design their OWN box, sometimes they listen, sometimes they don’t. Personally I would rather have my name be the ‘only’ one noticed and have my book(s) sell and read. I would rather have readers ‘demand’ more of my books and become fans and talk about my novel(s) with their friends, but that’s just me.

You could call the way I did things: creating ‘market demand”- you know, if you wanted too. ~smiles~

You know, my Mom always said I never learned to share…

Happy Writing!

Leave a Reply

