Reflection

Dear World- It’s me- Tilly

reflection- tilly riversThose that know me well; or have read parts of my book “My name is Matilda-The Tilly Rivers Story” are aware that my personal time for reflection is on my birthday. I don’t really do- “New Year Resolutions”

This year however I find myself doing some personal reflection as I welcome 2015, and I have to ask myself why. Why is this year different?

Perhaps it is because I find myself in a place I haven’t been in awhile- that nagging feeling that something is missing. But missing what? The answer was pretty startling; I am missing me.

Feeling a little lost within myself;  I don’t see my reflection- like a ghost there is no image staring back at me in the mirror.

Maybe because  I have forgotten to embrace my past; the past was not always pretty, life was not always kind.

What I have forgotten is that the past isn’t to be feared, it has shaped me to be the person I am. The past is a learning lesson, it can not harm me, I know longer have to go through those painful moments; but they happened and I can’t deny them either; what I can do is grow, grow knowing I survived them, grow knowing that they have created an inner strength, grow because I am not in that place any more.

Embracing the whole of who you are can be overwhelming. The good, the bad…and yes as the song goes, even the ugly. I have often said that the past is dead and you shouldn’t bring it forward; but maybe I was only partially correct.  To deny the past is denying part of who you are. So maybe the correct approach is viewing it differently; is truly taking those experiences and turning them from painful to positive.  It is not by chance that lessons learned is a major pillar of transformation.

In order for me to transform and become all I can be, I need to really listen to the voice of the past and learn; not judge.

Maybe politician Patrick Henry (1799) had it right when he said “I have but one lamp by which my feet are guided, and that is the lamp of experience.”

After all how do you know how to do it right, if you haven’t done it wrong? And how can you learn from the mistakes if you don’t take the time to really look into the mirror of your past and let it guide you towards a better future?

“By taking the time to stop and appreciate who you are and what you’ve achieved – and perhaps learned through a few mistakes, stumbles and losses – you actually can enhance everything about you. Self-acknowledgment and appreciation are what give you the insights and awareness to move forward toward higher goals and accomplishments.”
~Jack Canfield~

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

