All Writers Are Crazy

Tilly Rivers: Crazy

Tilly Rivers: Crazy

There are times when a writer wonders if anyone is reading what they wrote. This must apply tenfold for bloggers. Sure you have followers and such, but I will be the first one to admit, I INTEND to read the blogs I follow, but more often than not I press the ‘delete’ key instead. {sorry}

I have never worried about that much; people reading what I write- if they do I am blessed, but if they don’t…{shrugs shoulders}.  I am not trying to sound egotistical; please don’t take that statement the wrong the way. I mean, I write, because I need to- it is more about getting the words out, the stories out of my spirit, my head- than who is going to read them.

Does that make me crazy? Probably.  I’ve also thought I walk a fine line between sanity and a little ‘screwy”.

Insane means “in a state of mind that prevents normal perception or behavior…” well Ladies and Gentleman  very rarely do I see “normal perception.”

How boring is that? To always colour inside the lines? To paint a sky blue and grass green? The truth is, when was the last time you saw a ‘blue’ sky?

The sky can turn a multitude of colors such as red, orange, purple and yellow (especially near sunset or sunrise). Some of the natural phenomena seen in the sky are clouds, rainbows, and aurorae. Lightning and precipitation can also be seen in the sky during storms. Birds, insects, aircraft, and kites- The sky turns dark at night… so how can you say the sky is blue?

There are I suppose a million and one clichés out there to describe  the opposite of “normal perception” such as – “He walks to the beat of his own drum” or how about the most common phrase in today’s society —“thinking outside of the box.”

I think a writer has to be abnormal- we, after all create worlds that only exist in our minds, we tell stories about ‘people’ that aren’t real;  we speak of fantasy and “make believe’ as if it is real, and for a time, while we write it IS real.

I’ve often been asked in interviews what I think makes a great writer, and I say; “All writers are crazy, to some degree. There is a reason for it — actually making it through a novel almost requires it. If you love to read, then you’re continually benefitting from other people’s craziness.”

 

Leave a Reply

