As Seen on my Facebook Wall. Happy to keep it small

I’m Happy to keep it small.

by Tilly Rivers on Tuesday, April 5, 2011 at 4:19pm

I know, I know most people would think I’m nuts- that LAGE success is what you want. But reality is I’ve been there- done that-I want simple.

When iItold everyone I was pulling back and no longer doing print runs of MSM I’ve had some heavy-duty (well-meaning-?) flack about it, no, you need to keep it large and print for credibility. I do? Says who?

NO, you need more…more subscribers, more hits….more… I do? WHY?

I’m very happy and excited that MSM is doing so well, we get good traffic to our blog and have lots of requests for pdf copies. So much so in fact that my ftp couldn’t handle the demand and crashed, so much so in fact that I am seriously considering capping the number of subscribers.

MSM is about FUN- a kick-ass magazine that covers topics that people with actual thoughts in their heads could read-instead of celeb tripe- it is about giving the unknown, or semi-known artists, author- creative talent- an opportunity to say “Hey world- over here- this is me- and my (book, song, art, gadget-fill in the blank) is awesome.

It is about being able to talk about sex, relationships and “stuff” without being worried about being politely correct, it is about LIFE!

I’m happy with the handful of amazing writers, I’m happy to feature guest writers each month, I’m HAPPY. Isn’t that the point?

It’s simple, small and intimate. I like it that way, and as the founder, boss and chief rain maker- that’s the way it’s going to stay. If it’s too small for you- I can dig it- but apparently it’s just right for over 25k- and growing pdf requests so far this month- and hey apparently it’s pretty damn good for the amount of hits the blog gets everyday as well. So here’s a message to all those well meaning advice givers;- NOPE- NO-NUDDA- NOT GONNA HAPPEN. I have pulled back to make this an on-line magazine- not your style? That’s cool- Don’t want to be part- that’s great- but please stop telling me what I should, or shouldn’t be doing with my own life!

~Tilly~

 ·  · Share · Delete

    • Chad Ward I understand this more than you realize, my family has been trying to get me to go back into business for myself even since I sold out and went back to work for someone else. Sometimes the headaches aren’t worth the rewards. You know?

      April 5 at 6:55pm ·  ·  2 people
    • Tim Bamford Way to tell ’em, Tilly!

      April 5 at 7:06pm ·  ·  2 people
    • Nice Guy Small is beautiful…

      April 5 at 9:22pm ·  ·  3 people
    • Tiffany Howard Agreed. And you totally rock, Tilly xxx

      April 5 at 9:46pm ·  ·  2 people
    • Bren Freeman Darlin you have balls!

      April 5 at 10:17pm ·  ·  2 people
    • Nick Rose It seems to me that you have made some awesome decisions about your career and you have done 10 times better than those who always want to criticize you or give you advice. As Tiffany said, You rock. You just keep doing what your doing hon.

      April 6 at 9:38am ·  ·  2 people
    • Donna Kaye Tell them to piss off Tilly. When they reach the level of your status, wealth, fame and beauty they can say something, until than…piss off

      April 6 at 12:20pm ·  ·  1 person
    • Donna Kaye I have SHARED this on my wall. As Bren said, you my dear have balls…and I’m so happy you’re in my corner.

      April 6 at 12:24pm ·  ·  1 person
Leave a Reply

