Opening the Vault: Archives

Interview with Tilly Rivers, 2008.  As seen in Straight Talk”
~~~~~~~

Logo: Tilly Rivers

Tilly Rivers Logo

It is our great pleasure to have the opportunity to catch up with Tilly Rivers, best selling, multi-award winning author.

Tilly has been dubbed the “Erotica Goddess” and she has an international following. Her books are almost always on the best selling list. Rivers also  is a radio host, model and CEO. She hit celebrity status and it was rumored she had a brief fling with  actor Nicolas Cage; a rumor she has neither denied nor agreed with.

We hope you enjoy the interview.

ST: Where are you from?

TR: Ontario, Canada

ST: Tell us your latest news?

TR: Forbidden Fruit will be released in the fall of 2008. This will be my final release.

 

ST: When and why did you begin writing?

TR: I began to freelance write in 2000.  Writing came to me because of a ‘bet.”

 

ST: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

TR: I think I was born a writer.  A gift that has always been with in.

 

ST: What inspired you to write your first book?

TR: The publishing contract. Giggles. I was asked, so I thought–why not.

 

ST: Who or what has influenced your writing?

TR: My mother. She wanted to be a journalist, but ended up being a great mother instead, but she was always so creative and encouraged all of us to follow our dreams. I wrote poetry when I was younger and my mom- as all mom’s do- said it was great- but it wasn’t so much the ‘words’ it was the look in her eyes, the look of pride.

 

ST: How has your environment/upbringing colored your writing?

TR: Of course. All great writers tell you to write about what you do, or know well. If my parents hadn’t been free spirits I do not think I would be as free as I am with my creative process. Like any great author, I research before I write!

 

ST: Do you have a specific writing style?

TR: Yes. Although like me I am not sure it has been labeled, other than my books are collections of short stories, each one a different fantasy. However I want the reader to project themselves into the story, and I think that is what makes my writing so popular, it may be considered a sexual fantasy, but fantasies are like dreams, if you back them up with action they become probable not impossible.

 

ST: What genre are you most comfortable writing?

TR:  Anything. Erotica. Poetry.  Fun articles. Although I have written two full length romance novels that did okay, I love erotica, and that passion vibrates in my writing.

 

ST: How did you come up with the title?

TR: Which one? For Forbidden Fruit, released this fall, the title came to me. I can not explain it I suppose; I just ‘knew’ it was the right title for this collection of erotic stories.

 

ST: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

TR: Absolutely! That sex is not something to be ashamed of, and that each of us have sexual fantasies, which makes us perfect- let go and embrace that wonderful side of you that is just waiting to be set free!

ST: How much of the book is realistic?

TR: All fantasies are the blend of real and wants.

ST: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

TR: Rumour has it that every one of the stories I write are based on hands on research. I will leave it up to the readers to decide if that is true or not.

ST: What books have influenced your life most?

TR: I have probably studied sex as much as or more than sexual therapist- giggles- I enjoy Kama Sutra and The Perfect Garden, and wonderful teachings from Ashley Thirby, Nor Hall and Linga Purana. But I also read as many business books and classics, as well as new-age. I love to read.

ST: If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

TR: I couldn’t choose. I am a firm believer that you can learn from so many sources. All mentors are wonderful, and each is brought into your life to teach you differently.

ST: What book are you reading now?

TR: I always have three or four on the go.

ST: What are your current projects?

TR: Besides the radio show, tour, and new release? Giggles, oh…nothing!

ST: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

TR: My own core beliefs.

ST: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

TR: No.

ST: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

TR: When I ‘fly into the mist’ it just takes me over, I suppose I have always been what is termed now as a day dreamer, before I knew it I was reliving pleasurable events of the day in my mind, and  a story was forming that needed to burst free.

ST: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

TR: Forbidden Fruit was fun to write. All of us have what I like to think of as a dark side; few sadly embrace it to discover that it is not a dark awful place after all. Within the pages of this book it was my goal to let some of those fantasies out.

ST: Would you recommend writing as a career? Why or why not?

TR: No. Too many think it will be easy and that they will be famous and on Oprah. When this does not happen people become bitter and hurt.

ST: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

TR: I find that I have the worst timing. Off I will go flying into the mist at the oddest times, once I was walking and literally walked into a hydro pole. Better that than a car hitting me I suppose.

ST: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

TR: Deadlines. I am the worst with time.

ST: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

TR: You are the best.

ST: What is your ultimate goal as an author?

TR: I have been blessed to reach all of my goals, I have won many awards, been given ‘celebrity status’ and reached the best sellers list more than once.

ST: Where do you see yourself in ten years?

TR: Ten Years? I am happy to take it each day at a time.

-end-

Leave a Reply

